The ECTS system

Since 1990, with the introduction of the ERASMUS and later the SOCRATES programs, the European Union has set up the ECTS scheme (European Credit Transfer System) to enable students to validate their periods of study abroad. The ECTS is a system of academic recognition of learning achievements and transfer of credits throughout the EU, providing a way of measuring and comparing academic results and transferring them from one institution to another.

The ECTS system is based on 3 main principles: information (on courses available and students’ results); agreement (between the participating institutions and the students), and the use of Credit Points.

These three core elements are implemented by means of three key documents:

  • the information package
  • the application form/learning agreement
  • the transcript of records

ECTS credits are a value allocated to course units to describe the student workload required. They reflect the quantity of work each course requires in relation to the total quantity of work required to complete a full year of academic study at the institution. Thus, 60 credits represent the workload of a year of study (30 credits = one semester). It is up to the individual participating institution to subdivide the credits for the different courses over the year.

The ECTS system is based on the principle of mutual trust and confidence between the participating institutions. The code of practice offered by the ECTS ensures that all members adhere to the agreed guidelines and facilitates academic recognition of studies abroad.


ECTS grading scale

The ECTS grade is complementary to but does not replace the mark given by the institution concerned.

A         Excellent                      (10% of students)
B         Very Good                    (25%)
C         Good                            (30%)
D         Satisfactory                 (25%)
E         Pass                             (10%)
F          Fail/FX

The UTT grading system

The UTT has adopted the European Transfer Credit System (ECTS) and its grading scale. Each credit course is worth 4 or 6 ECTS.

At the UTT, there is no “catch up” or second examination session in any given semester.